Decision Day

24 Feb

Since you guys were so helpful last week, I’ve decided to take to the streets again (figuratively; I’m actually not moving from my desk) to seek your collective opinion on which book I should embark upon for this upcoming week.

Options are:

  • Outliers, by Malcolm Gladwell (This one is up for review again; it got a few recommendations last time, but I’m still unconvinced. I resent nonfiction writers who seem to have “the answers.”)
  • Just Kids, by Patti Smith (I don’t know why Amazon makes it so difficult to find a non-special edition of this book, but in any case: Multiple people have said it’s amazing, and may perhaps be a nice way to piggyback on my Fran Lebowitz-inspired NYC kick.)
  • The Art of Fielding, by Chad Harbach (This book was on like 9,000 “Best of 2011” lists, so I’ve been warily considering it since the holidays. Generally, I see books that even vaguely mention a professional sport and balk, but I am willing to be swayed.)
  • Coming Apart: The State of White America, 1960 – 2010, by Charles Murray (Ugh, this book. It was cited in the GOP debate and has been the subject of a few New York Times articles. It’s not so much that I think Murray has something insightful to say; rather I like to know where the opposition is getting their information.)

What shall it be? Let a sister know in the comments section.

2 Responses to “Decision Day”

  1. Tricia O'Reilly February 24, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Hmm, of these, I have only read Just Kids. Which is really excellent. But I have been eying The Art of Fielding for a long time too. I dunno. Do what I used to do as a kid, which is put all your library books behind your back, shuffle, and pick. And then change your mind and read the one you secretly wanted to read first all along.

  2. Anonymous February 24, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Just Kids, obviously.

Leave a Reply

